The Ladies' Literary Club


Club Scholarships

The Ladies’ Literary Club Scholarship Foundation was created in 2000 to administer club scholarships. Proceeds from the annual Christmas Bazaar raffle held every November and the Gala Day Fashion Show and Luncheon held every April are added to the foundation accounts. All of these proceeds as well as all other gifts to the foundation are tax deductible. If you would like to make a donation to the Ladies’ Literary Club Foundation, send a check made out to LLC Foundation to Valerie Mills, 1221 Westmoorland, Ypsilanti, MI 48197.

The Ladies’ Literary Club Foundation awards up to four college scholarships every year. The club has two scholarship funds.

Sarah George Scholarship Fund

Sarah George Scholarships

Sarah GeorgeThe Sarah George Loan Fund was established in 1928 with contributions of $500. Sarah George was a member of the club for almost fifty years and she twice served as club president. On the club’s fiftieth anniversary in 1928, with Sarah George present, it was announced that a loan fund had been established in her name. Today it is the Sarah George Scholarship Fund, and it supports three generous scholarships that are awarded to young graduates of the Ypsilanti Community Schools attending Eastern Michigan University. Selection, as in the beginning, is based on scholarship, leadership, and moral character. The Sarah George Fund now supports two Sarah George Scholarships and one Barbara Weiss Scholarship.

Barbara Weiss Scholarship

In June, 2013, after the death of club leader Barbara Warner Weiss, the Ladies' Literary Club Foundation board voted to name one of its annual Sarah George Scholarships in honor of her. Barbara Weiss, a lifelong resident of Ypsilanti, was a giant in the city's community of volunteers. She was also an EMU graduate and former music teacher at Ypsilanti High School.

The recipients of the 2018 Sarah George Scholarships are Bryann Grieve and Nakyra Hollie. The recipient of the 2018 Barbara Weiss Scholarship is Lisbette Zavala.

Joan Willoughby Scholarship

Joan WilloughbyThe Joan Willoughby Scholarship was established in 1999 by Robert Willoughby in memory of his wife, a past president and dedicated club leader. The scholarship is awarded annually to an area high school graduate or nontraditional student pursuing a degree in health care at Washtenaw Community College. The recipient of the 2018 Joan Willoughby Scholarship is Amanda Budry.



The Ladies' Literary Club, 218 North Washington Street, Ypsilanti, Michigan 48197
Clubhouse Caretaker: Jenny
Clubhouse: (734) 482-7615
Clubhouse Rentals, Nancy Taylor: (734) 482-6458