Scholarship Foundation

A Corporation of members from the Ladies’ Literary Club shall comprise the Ladies’ Literary Club of Ypsilanti, Michigan Foundation. Foundation Directors shall be appointed as needed at the annual meeting of all the Directors as stipulated in the Foundation bylaws.

The purposes of the Foundation are to receive and administer funds primarily raised by and through the Ladies’ Literary Club to endow scholarships and support such other activities as shall directly and indirectly promote these endeavors. The Foundation operates as a separate entity from the Ladies’ Literary Club Board of Trustees and other Foundations associated with the Club and is subject to the stipulations found in section 501 (c) (3) of the Internal Revenue Code.

The Sarah George Scholarship

The first Sarah George Scholarship of the Ladies’ Literary Club was awarded May 13, 1953, although the original fund was started in May 1928. It was established as a Student Loan Fund to honor Mrs. Sarah Wadhams George, a brilliant leader and twice president (1882-1883 and 1910-1912)of the club.

Scholarship recipients are female graduates of the Ypsilanti Community Schools attending Eastern Michigan University. The 2021-2022 Sarah George Scholarship winner is

The Joan Willoughby Scholarship

The Joan Willoughby Scholarship was established in 1999 with a grant from Dr. Robert Willoughby in memory of his wife, a dedicated and beloved Club past President. The scholarship is for an area high school graduate or nontraditional student pursuing a degree in the health care field from Washtenaw Community College. The 2021-2022 Joan Willoughby Scholarship winner is

The Barbara Weiss Scholarship

The Barbara Weiss Scholarship was established in the 2014-2015 Club year. This scholarship is in honor former Club President and Club leader Barbara Weiss. Scholarship recipients are female graduates of Ypsilanti Community Schools attending any college. The 2021-2022 Barbara Weiss Scholarship winner is